Homemade Mayo

I am all about finding new ways to save money, and making the things we use every day is just one more way to get the best bang for our buck.  I have been wanting to try my hand at making ketchup (since we grow tomatoes) and mayonnaise (since our hens will soon be giving us fresh eggs).  After this week’s Barn Hop where there were two different bloggers posting about homemade mayonnaise, I decided to give it a try.

Wouldn’t you know it?  Not only is it less expensive than store-bought and less all those additives, it was so much fresher and tastier (that is, if you like mayonnaise).

I took a little bit of this and a little bit of that from different recipes I found on the web, and this is what I came up with that suited our taste buds (we normally buy Kraft made with Olive Oil…the one with the green lid):

egg yolks (2 large or 3 medium)
1 Tbs vinegar
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp dry mustard
2 tsp lemon juice (I think I will try it next time with a half teaspoon less)
1 cup oil (I used olive oil, but I believe you could use canola or any vegetable oil to make it even less expensive…but also less healthy)

With a blender (I used an immersion blender), combine everything together except the oil.  Add oil slowly while continuing to blend, and watch it thicken.  You’ll definitely want to use something like a mixer or blender to do all of this so your arm won’t turn into a limp noodle. 😉

According to Alton Brown, mayonnaise is very acidic (like 3.6), so leave it on the counter for a couple of hours to let the acid kill any salmonella that could be lurking.  Store it in the refrigerator for up to a week.

Enjoy!

One comment

  1. Amy @ Homestead Revival · October 1, 2011

    Amy, thanks for linking up. You’ve got a great tip here – leaving it out to kill the salmonella. Didn’t know that before. And I see you add a bit of sugar. I might try adding a little sweetener to see how it tastes next time.

Gimme Your Thoughts!

