Pears – Blessings of Abundance

A couple of weeks ago, one of the ladies who works at the restaurant brought us quite a few pears from an old homestead of a elderly lady she looks after.  She no longer gathers her pears; so, of course, we jumped at the chance to get to use what would otherwise go to waste.  What a blessing!……but what on earth do I do with them?

My mom reminded me of my Granny’s pear preserves (which I barely recall) that we all apparently enjoyed when I was a kid, so that’s exactly what I did with them…

Pear Preserves

As much as I would love to share some great recipe with you, I have to be honest – I have no idea what the recipe is other than what I found in the Sure-Jell instructions.  I do know that my daddy said they weren’t exactly the way he remembered my Granny’s (which meant they weren’t as good as Granny’s), so I guess it would’ve been better to have something to go by besides the pectin insert.  I do know this, though:  they are quite yummy to the tummy in the eyes of the people in my household…maybe not as good as Granny’s (*wink, wink* to Daddy), but we are eatin’ ’em up regularly with homemade biscuits.

The ingredients:
4 cups of peeled and chopped pears
2 Tbs. lemon juice
5 cups of sugar
Enough water (maybe a 1/2 cup) and their own juice to make a syrup
1 box of Sure-jell (or fruit pectin of your choice)

This recipe makes about 3 pints.  Wouldn’t you know, though, that we are clean out of pint jars after all the canning we’ve done this year…so ours are sitting (not-so) pretty on the shelf in quart jars.  And after using all of the pears we were blessed with, we ended up with 6 quarts!  Which is fine, though, because they definitely won’t last long around here.

Here’s how it all went down…

Peeled, cored, and sliced the pears...then I sliced them even smaller (about the size of french fries).

Boiled them with the sugar, lemon juice, and their own juice and a little bit of water until the juice was reduced (mine weren't quite reduced enough...live and learn, I guess) and the pears were transparent. Then, I added the pectin and let it boil for another minute.

Ladle into hot, sterilized jars. Put on the lids and rings, and place in the canner for about 5-10 minutes to seal.

 Although I hadn’t really remembered what they tasted like, pear preserves are delicious…if you’ve never tried them, add it to your bucket list!

2 comments

  1. Dawn · September 9, 2011

    They definitely ARE Yummy! Thanks again for sharing with us!

  2. Geralyn Hampton · September 9, 2011

    Your canned pears look sooooooo pretty! I wish I had the energy that y’all
    have. I remember when I had my whole cooler in my older kicten full
    of yummy things I had canned. Way to go girl, you are doing a good
    thing for you family!!!

Gimme Your Thoughts!

