Thankful Thursday # 52 – # 61

So many times, I have started a new year or a new season ready to do it right this time and to make some serious changes in my life (not to mention the lives of my family), only to see my plans fall by the wayside, one by one.  Sometimes it has lasted a few weeks, and sometimes it’s only lasted a few hours.  When I have been so frustrated at myself for my failures, I have always had a tendency to dig myself a deeper pit in which to bury myself….allowing the very thing that has it’s stronghold on me to devour my mind, soul, and body.

It’s been like this with me over and over again with my attempts to eat healthy and exercise.  Any time I have set out to change this lifestyle, and I have a moment of falling to temptation and eating that Little Debbie Swiss Cake Roll, it’s pretty much the end for me.  It is always chalked up to another failure, and that’s when I give up and just go back to my old habits.  My frustration at my failure has always led to discouragement and even despair.

The good news God has revealed to me just this morning through his Word, however, is that God is the God of second chances.  I don’t have to wait until next Monday (that’s usually my jumping off day) to start again on a path of obedience and balance in my life.  Today is the day for

“Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead…pressing on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 3:13-14).

Just as he told Isaiah,

“Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old.  Behold, I am doing a new thing” (Isaiah 43:18-19).

At the same time, He also reminded me that I can’t forget the lessons I’ve learned on my journey so far:

“Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.” (Philippians 4:9)

“Only be careful, and watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things your eyes have seen or let them fade from your heart as long as you live. Teach them to your children and to their children after them” (Deuteronomy 4:9).

I have to remember what I have learned through my past failures, what God has taught me about obedience, and  how far He has brought me.  This can free me to focus on living in the present, allowing me to lean on Jesus and look ahead to the reward He has promised to those who persevere.  No matter what your struggle (be it weight loss, quitting tobacco, or any other stronghold), He offers us a fresh start – a new beginning – and he offers it each and every day.  I’m ready to take Him up on it, are you?

52.  cool mornings and sunny days

53.  safety from a fire that could have quickly gotten out of hand

54.  laughing, and laughing, and laughing…with my children

55.  alone time with just him

56.  the sound of his shuffling feet down the hall…because he’s here, in this house

57.  sprouts coming up in the garden…future provision

58.  wisdom from a teenager…the condition of her heart is one I don’t have to worry about

59.  one-on-one time with just her…and another year for her on the horizon

60.  a selfless, loving mama who gets me…most of the time

61.  second chances, fresh starts, and new beginnings!

3 comments

  1. Maegan · October 27, 2011

    Lovely post my friend!! Needed that this morning!

    • Amy · October 27, 2011

      Girl, I needed it this morning, too…is why I posted it. Glad you were encouraged.

  2. Dawn · October 27, 2011

    great post, Amy! I struggle with the same sense of failure…thanks for the encouragement and reminder of what the Lord says about these things 🙂

Gimme Your Thoughts!

