Jehovah-Jireh, The Lord Will Provide

At 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday afternoon, I called Barry to ask him to stop and pick up milk on the way home from work.  That  was the last time I saw my phone.  Sometime around 5:00, Barry and I went out to close up the chickens for the night and pull some turnips, but I honestly don’t remember if I put it in my jacket pocket or not.  Around 6:00, I realized it was missing…and it was on vibrate.  I figured it had to either be somewhere in the house or somewhere outside.

At that point, the family and I went on pursuit of the phone.  We literally turned every room in the house upside-down while calling my number and listening for the buzz of the vibration (which is not so easy when there are two loud little boys trying to help).  We went out to the barn and the turnip patch doing the same…nothing.

After the boys went to bed, we decided to give it one more attempt.  We went through the house, room-by-room, calling my number and listening quietly.  Then, in each room, we would turn off the light and call it again so we would be able to see the light if we couldn’t hear it…still, nothing.  Shamefully, I’m often very prideful in the fact that I rarely lose my phone or my keys because I “always” put them back where they belong…I was so aggravated with myself…and quickly humbled.

Just before we went to bed around 11:00, I decided to make one more trip through the barnyard and the turnip patch…hoping if it was outside I would see it light up.  When I got to the barnyard, there was Twinkle (one of our 2 pregnant does), standing next to the chicken coop in the cold.  At first, I thought she was probably standing there because Sugar, our other dominant and recently more aggressive pregnant doe, wouldn’t let her in the barn.  She had done that a couple of other times lately, and I would end up having to lock one of them up in the kidding stall for the night just so they would both be inside and out of the cold.

As I walked over to Twinkle, I noticed she looked different at the head of her tail.  Upon feeling her ligaments, I realized they were GONE!  Then, I looked at her udder and realized it was FULL (I guess I just hadn’t looked at her closely earlier in the day).  I locked her in the kidding stall and quickly went inside to get out my goat books and get on the internet to see what I could find out.  Sure enough, this was a sign of imminent labor…but how close was she?  I got everything from “soon” to “up to 12 hours.”

I decided around midnight that I probably had a few hours, so I set my alarm for 3:00 to check on her but prayed the Lord would wake me if I needed to get up before then.  Right at 1:00, I sat straight up in the bed and felt I needed to check on her.  When I found her, she was quietly moaning , streaming, and pawing the ground.  I knew then it would not be long.

I saw that the lights were on at my parents’ house, so I decided to get my mom and let Barry sleep since he had to work later.  We had no idea when these two does were bred, but we were thinking they would be due sometime late in December, so I had not even gotten my kidding supplies together.  I started getting things together, double-checking my list, when I realized that we had to get some heat in the barn since the low that night was to be 28 degrees.  Thankfully, my mom (to the rescue once again) headed to Wal-mart at 2:am to purchase a heat lamp.

While she was gone, I gathered my supplies and researched kidding more in my books and on the internet, at the same time keeping a regular check on Twinkle’s progress.  By 2:45, she was on her side having regular contractions and appearing to push, so I woke up Barry.  Right at 3:00 a.m. we welcomed “Little Mac” (named after his father, Big Mac) into the world.  Aside from the birth of my own children, it was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen.  What a miracle!

This was taken the second he came out. We didn't even notice this until we were looking at the pictures later, but check out curious "Aunt Sugar" on the upper-right.

Twinkle inspecting her new baby.

Awwwe...mama love.

First time getting mama's milk.

got milk?

After the kids woke up, they couldn't wait to get out to the barn and get their hands on this little guy...he is just too adorable.

After things calmed down a bit in the barn, my cell phone came to mind, and I realized why I had lost my phone.  I truly believe that the Lord allowed me to lose my phone so that I would go out to the barn that late in the night.  He works that way, ya know?  There is no way I would have ever gone back out to the barn and found Twinkle in labor had I not lost my phone.  Given the fact that even though I helped dry-off and warm-up the baby with a heating pad (remember, it was 28 degrees outside), and he was still lethargic for a couple of hours after birth; I feel certain he would not have survived the night without my being there.  God is so good like that…what provision for that little baby goat.

We looked for my phone on and off throughout the day yesterday, and we even looked on eBay last night for a used one for my carrier (my phone is fairly new, so I’m only a couple of months into my contract…would cost a fortune to buy another one), but I couldn’t bring myself to buy one just yet.  Then this morning I was sitting here thinking, “Ok, Lord, you did what you needed to do…now I need my phone back!” LOL.  All of a sudden, I felt I needed to look better around my nightstand and bed.  I went back to the bedroom and woke up Barry to tell him what I was doing.  I said, “I know this may sound crazy, but I really feel led to look for the phone over here. If it’s here, then I really heard the Lord…if not, I guess it’s my imagination.”  This time, I moved my books off my nightstand and moved my nightstand away from the wall and away from the bed.  I got down on my knees and felt all around under the bed, and there it was…behind the leg of the bed up next to the wall…face down (this is why we couldn’t see the light).  Another miracle in my book!  Praise the Lord of provision, Jehovah-Jireh!

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?  Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?  And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

– Matthew 6:25-34

I’m linking this post to the Barn Hop.  Join me in checking out what’s going on with other homesteaders.

7 comments

  1. Dawn · December 1, 2011

    This was so amazing! Love to hear how God is working…so fun!
    And that little goat is just so sweet! We really want to come visit the farm!

    • Amy · December 1, 2011

      We’d love to have you…he’s so cute. Today he’s a day old and he’s already trying to jump around. Anne would love him.

  2. Geralyn Hampton · December 1, 2011

    He is adorable!! Now you know what to do when the other new kid arrives.
    Twins are always fun, enjoy them, they are so playful and love to climb.
    We even set up a low teader tater for the kids, they would play on it for hours.

    • Amy · December 1, 2011

      Thanks! We’re hoping Sugar has at least 2. We’re thinking she should because she is much bigger than Twinkle was.

  3. Trudy · December 5, 2011

    Hi,
    I too am a Christian homeschool Mom who is into homesteading. Thank you for your awesome blog. Not only is it a great God story and awesome reminder to me of God’s faithfullness but I also sent it to a friend of mine who is just starting the process of divorcing her husband and having to relocate her family and having to put her kids in school. She wrote me back and said she had tears streaming down her face…that the email was such a God timing moment this morning for her. I just wanted share with you how you have blessed people with your blog post that you have never ever met.

    • Amy · December 5, 2011

      Thanks for your comment, Trudy. I am completely humbled by the fact that God would use my simple words to minister to someone else…to God be all the glory. He is simply amazing!

  4. Pingback: The Last 3 Months |

Gimme Your Thoughts!

