The Last 3 Months

The longer I put off blogging, the harder it seems to be to get back in the swing of things.  So, I decided I will just try to put as much information into this one post as I can remember.  It has been 3 months since I posted last, and…well, obviously, a LOT has happened in the past 1/4 of a year, so I hope I can remember the highlights (fortunately, I took some photos during this hiatus, so that should help jog my memory):

A little over a week after we welcomed “Little Mac” (our first goat kid) into our world, our other doe, Sugar, kidded on Saturday evening, December 10.  Fortunately, by this time, I knew what to watch for and had been keeping a close eye on her every day since Little Mac was born.  It was a pretty uneventful delivery aside from the fact that we were “certain” she would have at least 2.  We kept waiting and waiting (not knowing at the time that there are ways to know if there is another) until she finally delivered the placenta a couple of hours later…then we knew there would only be one.  It was a little doeling, and we named her Bonnie Blue (we’re suckers around here for anything Gone With the Wind).

Almost immediately after birth, while her momma was trying to clean her up, she was suckling Sugar's ear. After I put her in the right place, she quickly started to nurse...so sweet:)

Hmmm...satisfied. Bonnie is very sweet and playful (that is, when she can get away from her overprotective mother).

The grain I ordered back in the spring finally came in.   It’s Hard Red Spring Wheat from Montana Milling.  I was so excited to get it (all 300 lbs. of it), but there was one problem…I had no way to mill it…until….my parents blessed us with a grain mill for Christmas!  Let me tell you, it is wonderful!  I had no idea how different it would be from store-bought whole wheat flour.  I don’t know how to explain it, exactly, but it seems to have so much more elasticity…it’s so much easier to knead!  And, it makes the best bread I have ever tasted.

Here's what we got...the L'Equip Nutrimill...I love it.

Barry had a birthday…

Happy Birthday, Dad!

Lauren was in a sweet Christmas program at church…it was too cute.

Lauren, Emma, and Micah going over their lines one last time.

The angels

One of our hens, Ruthie, went broody.  Since she’s a little Silkie, we only gave her 4 eggs to sit on.  Two hatched, and we are pretty sure they were from our two Ameraucanas, Pearl and Ginger…of course, papa is a Rhode Island Red, so I dunno what the outcome will be when they’re bigger.

006

Here they are shortly after they hatched.

097

And a few days later with their surrogate mother.

Lauren had her 1-year post op visit with Dr. Berch.  Can you believe it’s been an entire year since her surgery?  Time flies around here! Nevertheless, he said she looks great, and we are so thankful for how the Lord has healed her body and that she is now able to endure any activity she wants without becoming short of breath or having chest pain.  We will go back in a year to schedule the removal of her bar (which will, thankfully, be a simple outpatient surgery).  While we were in Jackson for her appointment, we just had to take advantage of our trip by visiting the Mississippi Children’s Museum again.  What a wonderful place…and can you believe how big the boys have gotten since our last visit to the museum?

054

Dad helping the boys move logs.

053

My 3 men.

Both girls went to TeenPact Leadership School (Lindsay’s 4th year for the 4-day class and Lauren’s 3rd year for the 1-day class).  I’ve said it in previous years, and I will say it again:  TeenPact is one of the best Christian student organizations around…if not the best. It has been life-changing for both girls. If TeenPact is available in your state, I encourage you to check out their website and get your kids involved as early as possible (8 years old is the starting age).

teenpact1

The 2012 4-day class.

teenpact

Luke, Lindsay, Courtney, and Tiffany. Lindsay met these 3 a couple of years ago at TeenPact, and they have become the best of friends and look forward to getting together as often as they can (although, that's usually only a couple of times a year).

127

Lauren's 1-day class praying for the governor during the prayer walk at the capitol. They practice their freedom daily by praying over each branch of government.

145

Lauren defending the bill she wrote while also practicing parliamentary procedure.

And, last but not least, we adopted this big baby girl:

158

Her name is Cora (we named her after Lady Grantham of Downton Abbey), and she is a 1-year-old Great Pyrenees. She's beautiful and very sweet, but she is very skittish. We've only had her for two weeks, and she is still having some trust issues with us. I'm sure she'll eventually come around.

Now, hopefully I haven’t left too much out, and I will try my best to not take such a long break before my next post.  Thanks for your patience with me.  Be sure to comment and let me know what you’ve been up to!

3 comments

  1. Kathleen from Providence Farms · March 13, 2012

    I’m curious. What are the other ways to know if your doe has another kid on the way?

    • Amy · March 13, 2012

      Thanks for stopping by, Kathleen. It’s called “bouncing.” I actually had no idea about this (thought I had read everything, but I obviously had not), but I found this after the fact at Fiascofarm.com, which is where I’ve learned most of what I know. Here’s the link: http://fiascofarm.com/goats/bouncing.html

    • Amy · March 13, 2012

      Just visited your blog…lovely! I did see that you’re familiar with fiacofarm.com as well. I really thought I had read everything on her site until I found this information on bouncing. We use the Molly’s Herbal dewormers, too, and they seem to be doing well with them. I’m planning to start our new Great Pyrenees on them, too. Glad to know your dog has done well with it. Thanks again for stopping by!

Gimme Your Thoughts!

